Property Tax Homestead Exemptions

Who is eligible for a homestead exemption?

You are eligible for a homestead exemption if you

  • Own your home (partial ownership counts), 
  • The home is your principal residence, and 

Mainly, the homeowners who qualify for a general residence homestead exemption are also eligible for the exemptions given below, if they meet these criteria:

  • Over 65 exemption: If you’re over 65 and if suppose you die, your surviving spouse 55 or older will get your over-65 exemption.
  • Disability exemption: For homeowners (not their children) who have a disability that qualify for Social Security Disability benefits. If you are a senior and have a disability, you’ll take just one of the exemptions.

What will I save with the homestead exemption?

How much you save with Texas homestead exemption depends upon the amount of exemption and the level of tax adopted by your city, county and other local governments. Once you obtain an over-65 or disabled exemption, your school taxes are frozen (means they do not increase) until your home is not your primary residence.

How do I apply for a homestead exemption?

To apply for a homestead exemption, you should submit an application with your county appraisal district. Filing an application is free and only needs to be filed once. The applications will be on your appraisal district websites. If you turn 65 or become disabled, then you need to submit another application to get the additional exemption.

When do I apply for a homestead exemption?

The application for the homestead exemption can be filed at any time. If your application is postmarked by April 30th, the exemptions are often processed in time for your property tax bill that comes out in the fall. You can also apply anytime for over-65 or disabled person exemption after you qualify for the exemption.

What happens if I don’t pay my property taxes?

If you do not pay your property taxes, the county can put a charge on your homestead and foreclose on your home unless you have qualified for a deferral. You have two years to buy back your home after foreclosure. Homeowners with an over-65, disability, or disabled veterans exemption are eligible for a deferral from property taxes until they die or the home is no longer their primary residence, at which time all the taxes are due unless the person’s heirs also qualify for a deferral. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s